The Declaration (#1)

Author(s): Gemma Malley

Young Adult

Anna Covey is a 'Surplus'. She should not have been born. In a society in which ageing is no longer feared, and death is no longer an inevitability, children are an abomination. Like all Surpluses, Anna is living in a Surplus Hall and learning how to make amends for the selfish act her parents committed in having her. She is quietly accepting of her fate until, one day, a new inmate arrives. Anna's life is thrown into chaos. But is she brave enough to believe this mysterious boy? This is a tense and utterly compelling story about a society behind a wall, and the way in which two young people seize the chance to break free. Anna and Peter's story is continued in the sequel - 'The Resistance'

$17.95(AUD)


Add to Wishlist


Product Information

Tense and heartfelt, passionate and beautifully written, this is a novel with an extraordinarily gripping power For fans of Margaret Atwood's The Handmaid's Tale and Meg Rosoff's How I Live Now, this powerful and subtle novel marks the debut of Gemma Malley as an exciting new voice in the world of young adult fiction Translation rights sold in 10 languages prior to publication

'Poignant, thought-provoking ... Sharing the visionary quality of books such as 'The Handmaid's Tale' and 'How I Live Now', The Declaration is one of those rare books that changes the way you see the world.' Publishing News 'Stunning, thought-provoking and a book that genuinely stays with you' The Bookseller (Teenage Highlights)

Gemma Malley studied Philosophy at Reading University before working as a journalist. She edited several business magazines and contributed regularly to Company Magazine and the Sunday Telegraph before moving into the civil service in a senior communications role at Ofsted. The Declaration is her first novel for a teenage audience and she is already working on the sequel. She lives in South London with her husband and baby son.

General Fields

  • : 9780747587743
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
  • : April 2008
  • : 198mm X 129mm
  • : United Kingdom
  • : books

Special Fields

  • : 304
  • : Fiction
  • : Gemma Malley
  • : Paperback
  • : 1
  • : 823.92